FR2.0 R-ace Double

Double victory for R-ace GP in Eurocup FR 2.0 starter

R-ace GP started the 2018 Formula Renault 2.0 season with a double victory at Paul Ricard circuit. Logan Sargeant and Max Fewtrell scored their first victories to claim the first places in drivers and teams classification.

Fewtrell took pole position in both qualifying sessions but lost out to his teammate Sargeant in the first race of the weekend. The American driver managed to get a good start and led the field to his first Eurocup victory. Fewtrell finished in second place ahead of Josef Kaufmann Racing driver Yifei Ye.

Logan Sargeant (R-ace GP): “This is literally the perfect start to the season! I knew that it wasn’t going to be an easy challenge to beat Max. I was a bit lucky he made a poor start, which let me take the lead. Then, I just had to make sure I handled the pressure, avoiding any mistake and not being overtaken. That’s the most important part about being a race driver! Last year, I drove a Formula Renault here to gain experience. It helped, but the racing level is much higher in the Eurocup. Nevertheless, I don’t think being a rookie is a bad thing at all. It makes me want to beat those with greater experience even more!”


Second start of the season was better for Fewtrell: this time the Briton stayed in front of his rivals and won the race becoming the leader of the general classification. Yifei Ye and Christian Lundgaard (MP Motorsport) made his company on podium.

Max Fewtrell (R-ace GP): “It is great to start the season with a nearly perfect first meeting. I was disappointed yesterday, but my second place was still a great result. We got a good start and did what we know how to do best! After the safety car, Yifei was very fast and I couldn’t really break away. I had to push in the last laps to make sure I was safe. Next week at Monza, I hope we will be as strong as this weekend, although it’s a bit more difficult to lead due to the slipstream. Nevertheless, we’re not looking too far ahead and we will take the sessions one at a time.”


Provisional General Classification
1. Max Fewtrell (R-ace GP)43
2. Yifei Ye (Josef Kaufmann Racing)33
3. Logan Sargeant (R-ace GP)25
4. Christian Lundgaard (MP Motorsport)25
5. Oscar Piastri (Arden Motorsport)18

Provisional Teams Classification

1R-ace GP80
2Josef Kaufmann Racing37
3MP Motorsport31
5JD Motorsport13
6Tech 1 Racing12
7Fortec Motorsports0
8AVF by Adrian Valles0

Roman Ivanov


Roman Ivanov